YouTube threats spark rumor mill at Virginia Tech

Wednesday, March, 17, 2010; 1:45 PM | 5 | | Print

Share


TOPICS: charles steger youtube

“The police continue to work with Virginia State Police investigators and the FBI. The FBI is our liaison with Italian authorities. While we take all threats seriously, these law enforcement authorities do not believe these communications represent a credible threat,” Steger’s e-mail read.

In the March 10 e-mail, Tech Police said it is “confident” these postings are from the same user who posted similar threats in late October. 

In October, a YouTube account called NextKillerVirgTech showed in its commenting history a series of comments on various videos pertaining to Tech, including footage of Cho. YouTube has since deleted that account. 

However, it appears that the same user is continuing to create fictitious YouTube accounts. They have also continued to send e-mails from both fictitious vt.edu e-mail addresses and aol.com accounts.

A person claiming to be this user attempted to contact the CT last Thursday morning, March 11.

The sender confirmed in that e-mail that their posts originate from Italy and that "im not sad for my work and insults the vt community."

The sender stated in the e-mail they made the posts because "im only a sad guy."

There were no date-specific threats included in that e-mail, which the CT has since turned over to Tech police.

Steger’s e-mail asked students to report threatening e-mail correspondence, social networking postings, and activity on campus to the Tech police.

Tech police can be reached at 540-231-6411 or via e-mail at vtpolice@vt.edu. Blacksburg Police can be reached at 540-961-1150.

“There has been and will continue to be enhanced police presence throughout the university,” Steger’s e-mail said. “Because of the elevated concern expressed by the university community, I believe that an overabundance of caution is appropriate.”

Tech Police continue to investigate the situation.  Police recommended students to stay away from threatening social networking posts and avoid responding to such threats. They also recommend against forwarding e-mails containing such threats to friends or colleagues unless the information is factually correct.

Steger’s e-mail encouraged students to contact Tech police if they observe behaviors that cause concern for their safety or that of the community.

“I know that all this can and will be upsetting to our community,” Steger’s e-mail said. “Report your concerns, but don't be misled by speculative information or rumors.”

Continue Reading:  « Previous12

Leave a comment 5 Comments Write a letter to the editor

Fred | # March 17, 2010 @ 6:52 PM — Flag Comment

The threats are coming from Italy and thus should not be given any credibility. It is just a lonely kook at work who can't seem to get any female attention so he decides to show his machismo by sending off threats half way around the globe.

Just go to class Hokies, don't worry about this one.

Reply to this Top


Wow | # March 17, 2010 @ 11:25 PM — Flag Comment

Rather trusting, aren't we, Fred? You believe everything else the administration tells you?

Reply to this Top


Anonymous | # March 18, 2010 @ 12:09 AM — Flag Comment

EXACTLY...I don't take anything Steger has to say at face value. Let's just hope his incompetence and selfishness doesn't put us all in danger again.

Top


Fred | # March 18, 2010 @ 1:17 AM — Flag Comment

The IP headers in this case have been repeatedly demonstrated to be originating from Italy.

If it weren't for the internet, the "lonely guy" would likely be making obscene phone calls to numbers at random.

This guy sounds like a Walter Mitty style wannabe, all talk and imagination, fortunately no means by which to put words into action.

Top


hokie | # March 18, 2010 @ 1:32 AM — Flag Comment

why would he post a date though? If this isnt legit then after tomorrow he looses credibility for good and can't have any more of his sick fun threatening us. Thats the part that really scares me...if he's doing all of this to entertain himself you would think he would want to make it last

Reply to this Top